Synonyms for aglish or Related words with aglish


Examples of "aglish"
Aglish () is a village in west County Waterford, Ireland.
Aglish also won three Waterford senior football titles in 1915, 1922 and 1923.
Areas served by the station include Youghal, Ballymacoda, Ballycotton, Killeagh, Inch, Ardmore, Clashmore, Aglish and Knockanore.
Paddy O'Brien (born 6 November 1954 in Aglish, County Waterford) is an Irish country music singer.
Aglish, Ballinameela and Mount Stuart is a large parish in the Roman Catholic Diocese of Waterford and Lismore. It is situated the west of Dungarvan, County Waterford in Ireland. The parish comprises the villages of Aglish and Villierstown, plus the outlying areas of Ballinameela and Mount Stuart.
The village has traditionally had a population of less than 300, but Ireland's recent building boom has seen the population almost double since the turn of the millennium. Aglish lies west of Dungarvan and north of Youghal, and is within the parish of Aglish, Ballinameela and Mount Stuart. Running through the village is the Geosh river, a tributary of the River Blackwater.
Kiltera Ogham Stones is located in a field on the east bank of the Munster Blackwater, 1.8 km (1.1 mi) west of Aglish.
The building of Aglish Church of Ireland was financed by the Board of First Fruits, it is listed (RPS Ref S9) as a protected structure.
Iverk contains the civil parishes of Aglish, Arderra, Ballytarsney, Clonmore, Fiddown, Kilmacow, Muckalee, Pollrone, Portnascully, Rathkieran, Tibberaghny, Tubbrid, Ullid, and Whitechurch.
It is part of the Roman Catholic parish of Aglish, Ballinameela and Mount Stuart and the Church of Ireland parish of Lismore.
Aglish means church. The church was built in 1199 and is mentioned as Magalaid in 1302, as Machali in 1483 Agalasmaschala.
Fr. John Cotter built Farran Church in 1860. it was built beside the road leading from Farran village to Aglish burial ground.
The Cannaway Electoral Division, number 18201, includes the 16 townlands of the Civil Parish of Cannaway- as well as Rooves Beg, which is a constituent townland of the neighbouring Civil Parish of Aglish.
In Rumley’s bog in Ballineadig is a “cill” site called Teampul (also called Clogheen) in a circular mound. There was also a graveyard here. The passage or road from the site is still pointed out, leading to Crios a Cuilinn (Holly Cross) on the old Cork-Kerry road. The graveyard is locally said to have been removed to Aglish in the night, showing that this “cill” site preceded Aglish. A book in the Honan Chapel which is part of University College Cork, states that St. Finbarr is buried in that graveyard.
Ronnie Slevin (born 1941 in Aglish, County Tipperary) is a retired Irish sportsperson. He played hurling with his local club Borrisokane and was a member of the Tipperary senior inter-county team for one season in 1962. Slevin won a set of All-Ireland and Munster titles with Tipp in 1962.
Aglish ("An Eaglais in Irish") is a small settlement in County Tipperary in Ireland. It is in the Civil parish of Aglishcloghane in the historical barony of Ormond Lower. It is located approximately 7 km north of Borrisokane, 1 km east of the R438 road.
The ruins of the medieval church in Aglish, which was built of stone and lime, still show the northern and western walls. The old graveyard is to the rear of the western gable. A new graveyard was opened in the 1970s, and is still being used for families in the area.
Piltown is a Local Electoral Area of County Kilkenny and includes the electoral divisions of Aglish, Ballincrea, Brownsford, Castlegannon, Dunkitt,Dysartmoon, Farnoge, Fiddown, Jerpoint West, Kilbeacon, Kilbride, Kilcolumb, Kilculliheen, Kilkeasy, Killahy, Kilmakevoge, Listerlin, Muckalee, Pilltown, Pollrone, Portnascully, Rathpatrick, Rosbercon Rural, Rossinan, Shanbogh, Templeorum, The Rower, Tubbrid, Ullid and Whitechurch.
For electoral purposes, the parish lies in the Rural District of Macroom, in the District electoral division (DED) of An Sliabh Riabhach. Other DEDs within that rural district include Aghinagh, Aglish, Béal Átha an Ghaorthaidh, Cannaway, Ceann Droma, Cill na Martra, Claonráth, Clondrohid, Clonmoyle, Doire Fhínín, Gort na Tiobratan, Greenville, Inchigeelagh, Kilberrihert, Macloneigh, Magourney, Mashanaglass, Na hUláin, Rahalisk and Warrenscourt. The DED is part of the Cork North–West constituency for elections to Dáil Éireann.
"The church is a neat ancient structure with a square tower crowned with pinncales. There is a glebe-house, with a glebe of 20a. 2r. 17p. In the Roman Catholic divisions this parish is the head of a union or district called Ovens, which included also the parishes of Desertmore and Aglish, and the ploughlands of Millane and Killumney, in the parish of St. Finbarr, Cork: the chapel, erected in 1835 is a handsome edifice of hewn limestone, in the mixed Gothic and Grecian styles of architecture."