Synonyms for ballyboy or Related words with ballyboy

clonlisk              ballybritt              coolestown              ballycowan              eglish              parsonstown              killoughy              letterluna              clarmallagh              reynagh              clonsast              castlerahan              upperwoods              shrule              cullenagh              ballymahon              aghancon              kilmoylan              ballynakill              slievemargy              kiltartan              garrycastle              abbeyleix              clankee              kilbarron              enniskeen              kilcumreragh              kilconnell              gorteen              kilcolman              ballynamuddagh              kilmanman              moycashel              geashill              noughaval              clonmacnowen              tiaquin              shanid              carrigallen              bailieborough              rathconrath              tinnahinch              ballynamona              skreen              kildrumsherdan              kilflyn              rathaspick              borrisokane              feenagh              tullygarvey             

Examples of "ballyboy"
Ballyboy barony derives its name from the village of Ballyboy (Irish "Baile Átha Buí", "settlement of the yellow ford").
Ballyboy is a townland in County Westmeath, Ireland. It is located about north–west of Mullingar.
Portloman civil parish comprises 8 townlands: Ballard, Ballyboy, Balrath, Grangegeeth, Monroe, Portloman, Scurlockstown and Wattstown.
Below is a list of settlements in Ballyboy barony:
Ballyboy () is a barony in County Offaly (formerly King's County), Republic of Ireland.
Ballyboy barony is located in central County Offaly. The Silver River flows through it.
Ballyboy also refers to several other townlands in the Republic of Ireland
Ballyboy or Ballaboy () is a village in County Offaly, Ireland. It is about two kilometres east of Kilcormac.
Prior to the Plantations of Ireland, Ballyboy was ruled by O'Molloy in a territory known as Firceall which was allied to the Kingdom of Meath. When the Gaelic chieftains were removed from power following the English Plantations, Firceall was broken up with Ballyboy forming its own Barony within the then newly formed King's County (now County Offaly).
There is also a ring fort in the village environs which legend has it is linked by underground tunnel to the Ballyboy church about 400 metres distant. The church in Ballyboy was originally a Catholic Church but was later dedicated as a Church of Ireland (C 0 I). It is now derelict and in ruins.
Annagh, Auburn, Ballaghkeeran Big, Ballaghkeeran Little, Ballyboy Lowpark, Ballynacliffy, Ballynakill, Ballynakill Upper, Bethlehem, Bleanphuttoge, Boardsland, Brittas, Caplahard, Carrickfin, Cartronkeel, Corr, Creevenmanagh, Deerpark, Farrannamoreen, Fortyacres, Glassan, Kilfaughny, Kilkenny Abbey, Kilkenny Lanesborough, Kilkenny West, Lackan, Lisdachon, Lisnascreen, Lissatunny, Lissoy, Littletown, Lowpark Ballyboy, Lurgan, Magheracuirknagh, Pearsonsbrook, Portaneena, Rath, Temple's Island, Toberclare, Tobernagauhoge, Tonagh, Tullaghan, Tullyhogan, Tullyhumphrys, Tullylanesborough and Waterstown
Ballyboy to the north–east, Walshestown North and Walshestown South to the east, Slanestown and Clondardis to the south and Parcellstown to the west.
Athboy Aerodrome is located northeast of Athboy (), a town in County Meath ("Contae na Mí"), Ireland. This aerodrome is licensed by the Aeronautical Services Department of the Irish Aviation Authority. It is also known as Ballyboy Airfield.
The neighbouring townlands are: Scurlockstown to the north and east, Ballard to the south–east, Ballyboy to the south, Slane Beg to the west and Johnstown to the north–west.
Before 1784 there were two distinct parishes of Killoughey and Ballyboy. The two parishes were united in 1784 and today form one parish of Kilcormac and Killoughy of the diocese of Meath.
This constituency comprised the south-western part of King's County now known as County Offaly. It consisted of the baronies of Ballycowan, Ballyboy and Eglish, Ballybritt, Clonlisk and Garrycastle.
Kilcormac grew in importance in the 18th and 19th Century as Ballyboy went into decline. Following the establishment of County Offaly and the growth of Tullamore, Kilcormac now found itself on the main route on from Birr to Tullamore and became an important market centre in the area. Following the relaxation of the Penal laws the Catholic Church also opted to build its church in Kilcormac and not Ballyboy which cemented its place as a market centre of the area given the Catholic majority population of the area.
Under the Plantations of Ireland Firceall was broken up into the Baronies of Eglish, Ballyboy and Ballycowen and these were located in the then newly formed King's County which later became known as County Offaly (named after ancient territory of Uí Failghe) following Irish independence.
Slane Beg is one of 11 townlands of the civil parish of Dysart in the barony of Moyashel and Magheradernon in the Province of Leinster. The townland covers . The neighbouring townlands are: Johnstown to the north, Lugnagullagh and Ballyboy to the east, Slane More and Parcellstown to the south, Killdallan to the west and Sonna Demesne to the north–west.
In Gaelic Ireland, Rath was located in the territory of Firceall, of the Kingdom of Meath. The O'Molloy clan were chieftains of the territory and had a castle in nearby Eglish (the remains of which are still visible today). Following the plantations of Offaly in the 16th century, Firceall was broken up into the Baronies of Ballycowan, Ballyboy and Eglish.