Synonyms for barat_daya_islands or Related words with barat_daya_islands

kepulauan              talaud_islands              alor_archipelago              lembata              sangir              maluku_tenggara_barat              yapen              kasiruta              supiori              banggai              kangean              tanimbar_islands              yamdena              bawean              anambas              toli_toli              tambelan              raja_ampat              lombok_sumbawa              mangole              raja_ampat_islands              maluku_barat_daya              gorong              islands_kepulauan              belitung              togian_islands              konawe              selayar              simeulue              salawati              taliabu              sangihe_islands              saparua              sumbawa              anambas_islands              seram              buton              bali_lombok              wetar              lesser_sunda_islands              pulau_pulau              wawonii              tagulandang              selaru              lomblen              bacan              bolaang_mongondow              sibutu              kalimantan_borneo              kabaena             

Examples of "barat_daya_islands"
The Barat Daya Islands () are a group of islands in the Maluku province of Indonesia. The Indonesian phrase "barat daya" means 'south-west'.
Damer, or Damar, () is a small volcanic island in the Barat Daya Islands group in Indonesia's Maluku province, on the southern side of the Banda Sea.
Romang is an island, part of Barat Daya Islands in Indonesia, located at , east of Wetar Island. Alternate names in use are Roma, Romonu and Fataluku.
The main Lesser Sunda Islands are, from west to east: Bali, Lombok, Sumbawa, Flores, Sumba, Timor, Alor archipelago, Barat Daya Islands, and Tanimbar Islands.
Penyu Islands is part of Molucca Islands, located at the south of Strait of Manipa near Ceram. To the west is Lucipara Islands, to the east is Banda Islands and the south Barat Daya Islands.
Liran Island () (pronounced: "lee-rawn") is a small island off the southwest coast of Wetar Island, Indonesia. The East Timorese island Atauro is 12 km to the southwest. Liran is the westernmost of the Barat Daya Islands in the province of Maluku.
Nila volcano forms completely an isolated 5 × 6 km wide of island with the same name in the Barat Daya Islands of the Banda Sea, Indonesia. The volcano comprises a low caldera with its rims breach into the sea surface on the south and the east side. The dominantly andesitic volcano contains a young forested cone at the elevation of 781 m height.
Wetar is a tropical island which belongs to the Indonesian province of Maluku and is the largest island of the Barat Daya Islands (literally "Southwest Islands"). It lies east of the Lesser Sunda Islands, which include nearby Alor and Timor, but it is politically part of the Maluku Islands. To the south, across the Wetar Strait, lies the island of Timor; at its closest it is 50 km away. To the west, across the Ombai Strait, lies the island of Alor. To the southwest is the very small island of Liran, which is also part of Wetar district ("kecamatan") and, further southwest, the small East Timorese island of Atauro. To the north is the Banda Sea and to the east lie Romang and Damar Islands, while to the southeast lie the other principal islands of the Barat Daya Islands.
Unlike much of the rest of the Maluku Islands, the Barat Daya Islands did not participate in the inter-island trade over the centuries. Damar was the region's only island to have produced spice. Too remote from the centre of the Malukan spice trade, the Dutch destroyed the nutmeg trees on Babar. Bugis and Makarassarese annually sailed to coral-rich Luang to purchase reef products such as trepang and mother of pearl.
Islands bordering the Banda Sea include Sulawesi to the west, Buru, Ambon Island, Seram, Aru Islands, Barat Daya Islands, to the Tanimbar Islands, the Kai Islands and Timor in the East. Although the borders of the sea are hazardous to navigation, with many small rocky islands, the middle of the sea is relatively open. Island groups within the sea include the Banda Islands. A number of islands in the Banda Sea are active volcanoes including Gunung Api and Manuk in the Banda Islands.
Even though included in the Indonesian Maluku province political division, the southwestern islands are geographically part of the Lesser Sunda Islands. Rainfall is limited with a dry season between October and December when some of the islands appear as dry savannah. The Barat Daya Islands, together with Timor, the Leti Islands, and Alor, are designated as the Timor and Wetar deciduous forests ecoregion. Most of the islands are barren, infertile and minimally forested.
Wetar is part of a volcanic island arc which includes the other Barat Daya Islands and the Banda Islands, created by the collision of the Indo-Australian Plate and the Eurasian Plate. It is not, however, principally of volcanic origin, being instead mainly oceanic crust that has been lifted by the plate collision. The stratovolcano Gunungapi Wetar forms an isolated island to the north of Wetar.
Together with Timor, Nusa Tenggara, Sulawesi, and most of Maluku, the Barat Daya Islands are part of Wallacea, the group of Indonesian islands that are separated by deep water from both the Australian and Asian continental shelves. The islands of Wallacea have never been linked by land to either Asia or Australia, and as a result have few mammals and a mix of flora and fauna from both continents.
Timor and its offshore islands such as Atauro, a former place of exile increasingly known for its beaches and coral, as well as Jaco along with Wetar and the other Barat Daya Islands to the northeast constitute the Timor and Wetar deciduous forests ecoregion. The natural vegetation was tropical dry broadleaf forests with an undergrowth of shrubs and grasses supporting a rich wildlife. However much of the original forest has been cleared for farming, especially on the coasts of Timor and on the smaller islands like Atauro. Apart from one large block in the centre of Timor only patches remain. This ecoregion is part of the Wallacea area with a mixture of plants and animals of Asian and Australasian origin; it lies in the western part of Wallacea, in which Asian species predominate.