Synonyms for popcaan or Related words with popcaan


Examples of "popcaan"
Popcaan has toured the world since, in Europe, Canada, and the Caribbean and South American region. While in Canada, Popcaan connected with Canadian rapper Drake, who has publicly expressed his admiration. In 2013, Popcaan released the video for "Unruly Rave", which was shot in Toronto and directed by October's Very Own label head Niko.
In January 2016, Popcaan was featured on English electronic duo AlunaGeorge's single "I'm in Control". On 29 March 2016, a song entitled "Controlla" by Drake was leaked, with Popcaan being featured on it; a version without Popcaan was later featured on Drake's fourth studio album "Views".
Andrae Hugh Sutherland (born 19 July 1988), known professionally as Popcaan, is a Jamaican deejay, singer and songwriter.
Popcaan was also featured in "The New York Times" speaking on the growing impact of "Only Man She Want."
On 28 April, Popcaan released the single "Ova Dweet" which gained popularity both in Jamaica and abroad.
In March 2017, Popcaan performed guest vocals for the Gorillaz track "Saturnz Barz" off of the album Humanz.
In 2007, Popcaan approached Vybz Kartel at a local jam called 'My Scheme' where Kartel recruited the young deejay to his Portmore Empire (music group), becoming both a producer and mentor. Besides showing Popcaan the ropes of the music game, Kartel took him on major shows like Sting and Reggae Sumfest.
At the end January 2012 Popcaan released a new mixtape, Chromatic presents Yiy Change—the follow-up to his 2010 mixtape Hot Skull, Fry Yiy, Boil Brainz. In March "Only Man She Want" gave Popcaan his first "Billboard" entry at No. 89 on the Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs chart. The song was later officially remixed by rapper Busta Rhymes.
I Remember is the second studio album by English electronic music duo AlunaGeorge. It was released on 16 September 2016 by Island Records. The album includes collaborations with Popcaan, Zhu, Leikeli47, Dreezy, Flume and Pell. The album's lead single, "I'm in Control", was released in February 2016, featuring vocals from rapper Popcaan, and peaked at number 39 on the UK Singles Chart.
Popcaan has also collaborated with a number of international artists, most notably Drake, Jamie XX, Pusha T and Gorillaz.
"Feeling Right (Everything Is Nice)" is the debut single by Norwegian DJ and producer Matoma, featuring rapper Wale and Jamaican dancehall artist Popcaan. It was released on October 16, 2015, by Parlophone Records. The song is produced by Matoma and contains choruses, one bridge, and one verse from Popcaan´s Everything Nice. The remaining verses are performed by Wale.
In 2014, Popcaan signed with Mixpak Records and released his debut studio album, the critically acclaimed "Where We Come From." Popcaan is one of Jamaica's most successful dancehall artists, known for a variety of singles, including "Only Man She Want" (2011), "Love Yuh Bad" (2014) and "Ova Dweet" (2016).
Where We Come From is the debut studio album by Jamaican dancehall artist Popcaan, released on 10 June 2014 by Mixpak Records. A prolific dancehall artist from Jamaica, Popcaan collaborated with several producers on the album: Dre Skull (who also served as the album's Executive Producer), Dubbel Dutch, Anju Blaxx, Jaime YVP and Adde Instrumentals.
In 2012, Popcaan was featured on Pusha T's song "Blocka". His voice was then sampled by Kanye West on "Yeezus" in 2013.
At the Youth View Awards, Popcaan won three awards: Favourite Summer Song and Local Chart-Topping Song of the Year for "Ravin", and Young, Hot and Hype Male.
On 2 May 2016, Popcaan was reportedly held by police after a performance in Antigua involving an altercation with an officer on stage.
In May 2015, Popcaan was featured on Jamie xx's "I Know There's Gonna Be (Good Times)" with American rapper Young Thug.
Born In Saint Thomas, Jamaica, Sutherland grew up in Portmore, St Catherine. As young as seven years old, Sutherland trained himself as a vocalist and performer and Popcaan continued to follow his musical calling.
Mixpak Records is a Brooklyn-based independent record label, founded in 2009 by record producer Dre Skull. Specializing in dancehall, Artists released by the label include Vybz Kartel, Popcaan, Palmistry, Murlo, Jubilee and more.
New entries included Kevin Simm — "All You Good Friends", Drake featuring Jay Z & Kanye West — "Pop Style" and AlunaGeorge featuring Popcaan — "I'm in Control" at numbers 24, 33 and 39.