Synonyms for rathcline or Related words with rathcline

ballymahon              kiltartan              shrule              kilcommock              castlerahan              ballynakill              tiaquin              clonlisk              carrigallen              killoscobe              leyny              enniskeen              clonmacnowen              ballybritt              dunkellin              cloonclare              tobercurry              kilconnell              kilmacteige              trughanacmy              ballynamuddagh              moycullen              rossinver              rosclogher              glennamaddy              bawnboy              mountbellew              slievardagh              moycashel              letterluna              kilglass              drumahaire              killannin              tullygarvey              killosolan              feenagh              killashee              kilcolman              ballycowan              killanummery              ballymoe              abbeyleix              kilcummin              clankee              ballyboy              slievemargy              bailieborough              tirerrill              templetogher              drumgoon             

Examples of "rathcline"
Rathcline takes its name from the townland and parish of Rathcline (from Irish "Ráth Claon", "rath on the slope").
Note: The Longford townland of Annagh is in the barony of Rathcline.
The two towns have separate Gaelic Athletic Association football teams: Rathcline and St Faithleachs.
Rathcline ( or ; ) is a barony in County Longford, Republic of Ireland.
Rathcline is located in southwest County Longford, to the east of Lough Ree and north of the River Inny.
Rathcline barony was formed from the territories of The Callow ("Caladh na hAnghaile", left bank of Shannon, Lanesboro to Ballymahon) and the territory of Clanconnor (part Kilcommoc, part Cashel). Rathcline Castle (near modern Lanesborough) was built around the 9th Century by the Ó Cuinn (O'Quinn) clan. Later it was fought for and taken by the Uí Fhearghail (O'Farrell) clan and subsequently taken over by the Normans around the beginning of the 12th Century. Ó Fachtna (O'Faughny) is also noted as chief of the Callow (Callo) into the 16th century.
He played at club level also with Clan na Gael. He won seven Roscommon Senior Football Championship medals and two Connacht Senior Club Football Championship medals. He is the former manager of the Longford based Rathcline GAA club, who were promoted to Senior level in 2015. He left after a lack of commitment from the lads made his position untenable.
The river Shannon divides the two towns. So the two towns are in two separate provinces (Leinster on the east and Connacht on the west); two separate counties (Longford on the east and Roscommon on the west); two separate Roman Catholic Dioceses (Ardagh and Clonmacnoise on the east and Elphin on the west) ; and two separate Roman Catholic parishes (Rathcline on the east and, Kilgefin which consists of Ballyleague, Ballagh and Curraghroe on the west).
He purchased a Cornetcy in the 14th Light Dragoons in 1811 and served in the Peninsular War, fighting at the Siege of Badajoz and at the Battle of Salamanca. He purchased a Lieutenantcy in 1812. In 1823 he was elected to the House of Commons for County Dublin, a seat he held until 1832, and also represented County Longford from 1837 to 1847 and again from 1857 to 1861. Between 1841 and 1873 Annaly served as Lord Lieutenant of County Longford. In 1863 he was raised to the peerage as Baron Annaly, of Annaly and Rathcline in the County of Longford.
He had married Sarah Farrell, daughter of the vicar of Rathcline, County Longford, in 1820. They had five sons and six daughters. His eldest surviving son, James Farrell Pennycuick, joined the British Army, serving in the Crimea and the Indian Mutiny, and retired as a full general. A younger son, Colonel John Pennycuick, became British Army engineer and civil servant who also served in India. His son Alexander fell in the Battle of Chillianwala at the age 17, while defending the body of his father. His grandson, John Pennycuick, was an English barrister and judge.
A publican from Rathcline, County Longford, he unsuccessfully contested the 1961 general election and was first elected to Dáil Éireann as a Fine Gael Teachta Dála (TD) for the Dublin North–Central constituency at the 1965 general election. He continued to be re-elected for the constituency (renamed Dublin Finglas in 1977) until losing his seat at the 1981 general election when he stood in the Dublin Central constituency. He was again unsuccessful at the February 1982 election and the 1987 general election and then retired from politics.
He was born in 1884 in Rathcline, near Lanesborough, County Longford. He attended the local national school and subsequently won a scholarship to King's College, London. Following his education, he stayed in London and entered the Civil Service. He became very friendly with Arthur Griffith and Michael Collins at this time. In 1905, he was present at the establishment of the Sinn Féin organisation in London, and in November 1909, according to some sources, he initiated Michael Collins into Irish Republican Brotherhood (IRB). He was a prominent member of the Geraldines GAA Club in London, and he was for many years its President. In 1909 he became Secretary of the London County Board of the GAA.
2005 turned out to be a great year for Crettyard. The club won the Intermediate county title, beating Courtwood in a closely contested final before progressing to win the Leinster Intermediate Club Football Championship Title, beating Rathcline of Longford. The following are the players and mentors: Patrick ‘Red Pa’ Brennan, captain, Noel Kelly ‘RIP’, Shane Buggy, Liam ‘Sammy’ Kelly jnr, Ramon Buggy, John Jones, Peter Brennan, Jimmy Brennan, Joe Brennan, John Graham, Keith Nolan, Mark Kelly, Christor Maher, Richard Dempsey, Patrick Brennan, tce, Connor Kelly, Keith Purcell, Jason Dunne, Eddie O’Reilly, William Fitzpatrick, Enda Walsh, Nial Purcell, Killian Walsh, Brian O’Sullivan, Seamus Rice, Patrick O’Reilly, Paul Delaney, Brendan Brennan, Bernard Graham and Darren Ayers. Manager; Liam ‘Sammy’ Kelly snr, Trainer; Ben Brennan; Selectors; John Behan, Francis Fleming and Jim Kelly. In the last number of years the club has regularly reached the quarter finals of the Senior Championship.
The third creation came in the Peerage of the United Kingdom in 1863 when the Liberal politician Henry White was made Baron Annaly, of Annaly and Rathcline in the County of Longford. He had earlier represented County Dublin and County Longford in the House of Commons and also served as Lord Lieutenant of County Longford. White's father Luke White had previously represented County Leitrim in Parliament as a Whig. The first Baron's son, the second Baron, sat as a Liberal Member of Parliament for County Clare, County Longford and Kidderminster and served as a Junior Lord of the Treasury from 1862 to 1866 in the Liberal administrations of Lord Palmerston and Lord Russell. He was also Lord Lieutenant of County Longford. the title is held by his great-great-grandson, the sixth Baron, who succeeded his father in 1990. He served briefly as a government whip in 1994 in the Conservative government of John Major. However, Lord Annaly lost his seat in the House of Lords after the House of Lords Act of 1999 removed the automatic right of hereditary peers to sit in the upper chamber of Parliament.