Synonyms for udaychand or Related words with udaychand

theerthagiri              soubhagyavati              navadia              anutap              hathundi              niranja              homnabad              akkarappacha              aghari              saranjamdar              fatehbad              pidikittapulli              pirajirao              pachpera              peethambara              veerapandiyan              bhimappa              bairwa              thottathu              poorawat              bhail              thungan              ehatmali              thittam              barhara              pesumal              hamraz              nayikar              dhowj              sirsia              dharmu              yashvant              kumarsain              ashwaradham              mustacum              jitwarpur              bharateeya              ottaykku              chaurasta              ketkirom              balabantaray              buranjir              singhwahini              ollathu              vishwambhar              sastroulou              naidou              saikheda              yeshwantrao              sursinhji             

Examples of "udaychand"
In the first election after independence in 1952, Udaychand Mahtab lost to a freedom fighter and communist, Benoy Choudhury, who later became the Land Reforms Minister of Bengal, in spite of a campaign in his favour by Jawaharlal Nehru. The election defeat was followed by legislation for abolition of the zemindari system in 1954. An embittered Udaychand Mahtab shifted from Bardhaman to the Vijay Manzil in Alipur, Calcutta. He became a director of IISCO, set up in a part of his Raj, and several other leading mercantile firms of the day, such as Dunlop, Metal Box and Brooke Bond. He was also a Steward of the Royal Calcutta Turf Club.
Udaychand Mahtab (1941–1955) was the last representative of the Bardhaman Raj. He was the first graduate in the family and in 1937, he won the election to the Legislative Council defeating Bijoy Chandra Bhattacharya of Congress. He took over in a quiet coronation ceremony.
Damage to embankments of the Ajay and consequent flooding was a regular problem in the Ausgram and Mangalkot area. The devastating flood of 1943 caused immense suffering and lead to a mass movement for restoration/ repair of the embankments. A massive meeting was organised at Guskara in 1944, with Udaychand Mahtab, Maharaja of Bardhaman. However, the government did not take any action. Ultimately, the Communist Party, which had been at the forefront of agitations for some years, provided a huge work force for the purpose and completed the repair work. That laid the foundation for the party’s popularity in the area. The party attained continual popularity till 2008. Corruption,nepotism,political opportunism crept in after long 32 years in power. Lack of character,debauch personalities in politics caused the fall of the communist empire here. TMC attained power in municipality after Singur,Nandigram blunder. The agrarian people became alienated from the CPM and voted TMC. This was the first beckon of losing popularity of CPM in unassailable red bastion in West Bengal. This was the harbinger of the following results of the later municipal election trend in West Bengal.
Towards the end of 1946, the Bengal Partition League was formed by eminent Bengali Hindu intellectuals as an association for the partition of Bengal. The key people among them were Hemanta Kumar Sarkar, Nalinakshya Sanyal, Major General A. C. Chatterjee, Jadab Panja, Dr. Syama Prasad Mookerjee, Upendranath Banerjee, Dr. Shishir Kumar Banerjee, Subhodh Chandra Mitra and Shailendra Kumar Ghosh. The Bengal Partition League later came to be known as the Bengal Provincial Conference. In February, the Bengal Provincial Hindu Mahasabha constituted a committee for the creation of a separate province for the Hindus of Bengal and began their campaign in the districts. On 29 March, at the annual meeting of the British Indian Association a proposal was passed for the constitution of a homeland for the Bengali Hindus. Maharaja Udaychand Mehtab of Burdwan, P.N.Sinha Ray, Maharaja Srish Chandra Nandy of Cossimbazar, Maharaja Prabendra Mohan Tagore, Maharaja Sitangshukanta Acharya Chaudhuri, Amulyadhan Auddy and Amarendra Narayan Roy were among the eminent persons who supported the move.